Breaking A Chain

A while back, my friend Sherrie Cronin, author of two fine books that I reviewed here and here, tagged me to participate in a kind of chain letter thing. It was an invitation to talk about a work in progress according to a particular format, and I was also supposed to find two other authors to do the same thing.

I said I would. (Sigh.) Sherrie’s a wonderful writer and also great as a beta reader, and I’d normally do anything reasonable to help her out, but I shouldn’t have agreed to this. I found that I couldn’t push this idea on other writers with any real energy, and so herewith I (halfway) weasel out of an agreement and break the chain as it was originally designed. Has to happen eventually, so let it happen with me.

BUT — any of you folks reading this who have a book of your own, consider it an opportunity to do the same for your own work in progress. If at least two of you do, hey, I haven’t broken the chain after all! If you’d like to do that, please just answer the questions in bold below on your own blogs.

With that said, on to fulfilling the other part of what I said I’d do.

What is the title of your next book?

My next book is called Goddess-Born. It’s part of a series called A Tale of Two Worlds. Although this is a series, my goal is to make four independent stories that don’t have to be read in any particular order. Goddess-Born is the second book in the series. The first is The Green Stone Tower.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

The original seed idea came from an old video game called “Masters of Magic.” That game featured two planes of reality with towers that linked the two. The towers were hard to get control of, but once you did you had access to the other plane, and one of those was a good deal more magical than the other and had higher rewards.

As always, of course, from that seed idea a lot developed organically, and the tale has grown way, way beyond that simple concept. It does however include two worlds which are linked by towers that are difficult to use.

What genre does your book fall under?

It’s large-scale, epic fantasy.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

That’s really hard. To be completely honest, I’m not knowledgeable enough about movie actors today to make a good choice.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

The child of a goddess, fostered among mortals, must confront an evil priestess attempting to plunge the world into chaos, as the society where she lives heaves in revolution.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m still not quite finished, but very close. I started work on it last June, right after publishing the first book in the series, The Green Stone Tower. So that means it’s taken me about five months; that’s for a book of roughly 100,000 words.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

One that includes similar ideas of revolution and the impact of magic on social development is Illusion by Paula Volsky.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

I don’t think there was any one thing. I’m always playing around with new ideas for stories. In this case, the setting was already established in The Green Stone Tower, along with some of the characters.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It ties together the ideas of a monarchy with an obsolete hereditary aristocracy confronting social change arising from entering a modern age, with the fantasy elements of magic and real, tangible gods and goddesses. It has, I hope, engaging characters and a gripping plot. The main character, Sonia, is the daughter of the Goddess of Light and the God of Shadow, and I’ve done my best to grow her as a tribute to that conflicted heritage.

I’ll have more to say about Goddess Born at the time it’s published and becomes available, which should be before the end of the year.

My apologies to Sherrie for breaking the chain (if I did).

Leave a comment

Filed under Fantasy Storytelling

Leave a Reply

